Contact Us Links Calendar           Hawick Badminton on Facebook
About the Club
Borders Badminton League
Cannon Cup
Laws of Badminton
Members Gallery
Photo Archives
Newspaper Clippings
Contact Names
Hawick & District Coaches
Coaching in Schools
Coaching Videos
Coaching Children
UK Coaching Certificate
Coaching Contact Names
Junior Member Gallery
Newspaper Clippings
News and Events
Photo Archives

Hawick & District Primary School Tournament (2010)

Hawick & District primary schools held their annual badminton competition at Hawick High School games hall on Sunday, 21 March, 2010.

Play was hotly contested as ever, as 19 youngsters took part, with the majority coming from Drumlanrig primary school, who play under the supervision of Colin Blaikie.

In the girls' competition, Iben McMillan defended her title against fellow Drumlanrig player Sophie Hislop. Bringing her much-improved technical ability into play, Iben notched a 21-7, 21-7 victory. The boys' tourney was a much more physical contest, and Trinity's Douglas Telfer was made to battle hard against Daniel Elliot (Drumlanrig) before taking the title with a 21-8, 21-13 win.

Drumlanrig took the team award.

After the finals, Colin Blaikie gave the vote of thanks and trophy sponsor Janice Nuttall presented the prizes.

The coaches would like to thank scorers Dan McMillan and Ross Graham for their assistance throughout the day and Hawick High School for the use of the hall. The coaches would also like to thank all the parents and friends who came along to support the tournament.

Knockout Results

Girls: Semi-finals:

Iben McMillan 21 Amy Scott 4;

Sophie Hislop 21 Rhea Middlemas 7;

Girls: Final:

Iben McMillan beat Sophie Hislop 21-7; 21-7.

Boys: Quarter-finals:

Douglas Telfer 21 Iain Rolland 4;

Aidan Oldham 21 Connor Brown 11;

Murray Renwick 21 Kieran Murphy9;

Daniel Elliot 21 Christopher Meikle 6;

Boys: Semi-finals:

Douglas Telfer 21 Aiden Oldham 9;

Murray Renwick 12 Daniel Elliot 21;

Boys: Final:

Douglas Telfer beat Daniel Elliot 21-8; 21-13.

Overall team winners: Drumlanrig Primary School.

Tournament Sponsors:

Janice Nuttall (Trophies);

Colin Blaikie, Joiner (crips and soft drinks)

Hawick High Scool (games hall)


Harry Turnbull (Hawick Junior Badminton Club)

Colin Blaikie (Hawick Junior Badminton Club & Drumlanrig P.S.)

Laura Turnbull (Hawick Junior Badminton Club)

Craig Thom (Hawick Junior Badminton Club)

Special thanks:

Dan McMillan and Ross Graham who helped to score games.


Girls Singles Final - Iben McMillan v Sophie Hislop


Boys Singles Final - Douglas Telfer v Daniel Elliot


Tournament Photographs by Harry Turnbull

Please click on any image to enlarge. Move the mouse pointer to the left and right side of an image to view the previous or next image respectively. Use the "Close" button on the lower right hand side of an enlarged image to return to this page.











































































HAWICKbadminton 2009             Design by Harry Turnbull Ltd.